The one where I wanted to have a job by now

My friend told me off for being impatient when I told him about this. “But it’s been at least 5 months!” I said in a very exasperate kind of way. He replied with a reminder that it took him a year and a half to get the job he’s in now. I was very annoyed about that because I don’t want to wait that long. But then again, neither did he. The unanswered letters do get to me. If I had the courage I’d call those companies up and say “Come on! Hire me already! You don’t know what you’re missing” But I’m not really that kind of person. I do keep looking and applying, because that’s the only to get a job if you’re not planning to start your own company. Admitedly, the thought has crossed my mind because I’m tired of being unemployed. I wouldn’t have a clue how/what/etc. One of the hurdles is my lack of experience. I’m 29 and have only ever been a student (and took a bloody long time to get a bachelor’s degree and a masters diploma). Sure I have done interships, volunteering and all that, but I don’t know how much that counts. It doesn’t help either that I still don’t really know what I want to be doing. Also, according to my hubby I underestimate what I’m able to do as a job. The overriding emotion about this subject tends to be grrrr! I just have to keep at it I guess. I’m bound to get a positive response sometime.

Leave a Reply

