About fear

Fear is a peculiar something. It’s something no human being can get away from. Some have it bad, some barely notice it, and for others, like me, it can take over their lives. I don’t think I’ve ever elaborated about my anxiety in a blogpost. I mentioned my struggles with depression briefly, but those issues aren’t nearly as invasive as the anxiety has been for the last couple of years. I’ve always had anxiety to an extent. A panic coming over me a few dozen times a day for the silliest things. It could throw me, but never more that a few minutes. Lucky, yes, but it did regularly leave me pretty tired and on edge. A combination of stress factors pushed my anxiety over the edge about 5 years ago now. It got so bad that I have days, sometimes weeks that I can’t leave the house on my own. No reason. Just scared. Of nothing really. It can be pretty paralysing. If anything it’s incredibly frustrating because I would love to go out and see my friends, get a job (so I can make frivolous purchases), smell the fresh air. I’m not saying I can’t. It’s just really really hard to do so. I’m going to cheat a bit now. I recently read a blogpost on vox.com that was spot on about anxiety and I’m going to reiterate the pointers that were made about anxiety and what I / we would like people to know about it. You can read the full article here.

1) Anxiety does not move in a straight line
2) Anxiety is not rational, and boy, do we know it
3) With anxiety, some days are good days, and some days are bad days
4) Anxiety is physically painful
5) Not all anxiety is created equal
6) Anxiety and depression are linked
7) Unless you’ve been given explicit permission, when it comes to someone else’s anxiety, you should probably listen instead of talk
8) As frustrating, infuriating, agonizing, and exhausting as it can be, our experiences and struggles with anxiety are part of us, and we wouldn’t be the people we are without them
9) And, finally, the most important thing I wish everyone knew about anxiety, and about mental health issues in general: if you know someone with anxiety and you want to help them, ask them what would be helpful, ideally during a time when they are calm and non-panicked

As I said previously, these pointers are taken from the “9 things I wish people understood about anxiety” article and I highly encourage anyone to read it.

That is all. Enjoy the rest of the week!

2 thoughts on “About fear

  1. You made a good point at the beginning and you’re right everyone gets fear! Sometimes it’s easy to forget that. I know exactly how you feel. Here is a hug from me and you will overcome your anxiety and depression 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

