The only one I can’t forgive is me

I never realised the importance of forgiveness until I met my husband. He taught me why to forgive and how to really forgive. I’m not a spiteful person and have never been. I’m ok with a lot of things, and a bit naive at times as well, but I had never actively forgiven someone until a few years ago. It’s incredibly liberating to say it’s ok, I forgive you, even when it’s not in person. There is one thing that is still a work in progress and that is to learn to forgive myself. What have I done you ask to need forgiveness? I have lived. I sometimes say things without thinking, break a glass because I’m pretty clumsy at times, I’ve lied to protect myself or someone else. Not things that are considered terrible by current society standards, but I am incredibly harsh towards myself and think because I do these things that I must be a terrible person, even though I would never judge another in the same way. I’ll let you know when I figure out how forgive myself.

Inspired by today’s daily prompt: BFF’s “What’s the most important lesson you’ve learned from the person you’re the closest to?”

2 thoughts on “The only one I can’t forgive is me

Leave a Reply

